Alma Sanford – Female Rights Activist, Prominent Democrat To Back McCain

Via Tennessee Guerilla Woman (make sure to follow the link to get the whole story!)

It seems like an epidemic . . . women leaving the Democratic Party. Alma Sanford is the chair of the Tennessee Democratic Women’s Political Action Committee. The longtime party activist has committed untold hours to the project of opening politics up to women in this good old cretin boy state. Alma represented the state at the DNC as a pledged Clinton delegate. She was recently honored by the National Federation of Democratic Women as humanitarian of the year. Alma Sanford has been a committed party activist for more than 30 years. Especially, she is a leader of Democratic women.

-snip-

Alma pretty well sums it up: “[I]t’s not my party anymore. They have put poison in the well, and have run the older women out of the party.”

-snip-

Citing actions by Tennessee Democratic Party Chairman Gray Sasser, as well as spokesman Wade Munday, and the general mistreatment of Democratic such as Hillary Clinton and Rosalind Kurita, Sanford said she no longer considers herself a Democrat.

“I will vote for John McCain,” Sanford stated unequivocally.

19 Responses

  1. [...] – Well I guess that question didn’t have to wait long to be answered….  CLICK HERE Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Joe Biden: Who is he, really?Democrats Rally [...]

  2. What a woman of courage! I commend Alma for standing up for what is right. The democratic party is no longer a party many of us wish to associate with.
    I only wish Hillary Clinton had the same option to get the hell out of dodge, but I believe Obama has threatened her and her family somehow. She will protect her own.
    When all is said and done in November and Obama loses his corrupt bid for the White House, then and only then do I think Hillary will speak up.
    I will vote republican for the first time in my life, and I will do it proudly. McCain is a true patriot and a man of character and morals. I cant say any of that about Obama.

  3. Hi DaddysDarlin… It was wonderful meeting you in Denver!!!! Hope the ride back home was uneventful!!!

    I agree. Alma is incredibly strong for doing what she is doing. That is a very large leap for someone in her position. She feels very strongly about this.

    As for Hillary, it is political pressure and her career that keeps her there… just the name of the game. I don’t blame her at all.

  4. BRAVA ALMA…..I ALSO WORKED FOR THE PARTY FOR OVER 20 YRS…ALWAYS AS A VOLUNTEER..
    SUPPORTING BOTH MEN AND WOMEN…I RAN FOR OFFICE IN 1995 SO I KNOW THE GAMES…

    THE PARTY HAD THE OPPOURTUNITY TO SHOW
    HOW THEY VALUED THE SUPPORT OF WOMEN
    BUT INSTEAD THEY THREW HILLARY AND THE REST OF US UNDER THE BUS…AGAIN TAKING
    WOMEN….FOR GRANTED……THE PARTY HAS LOST
    ITS SOUL…..THE MARRIAGE BETWEEN DEM WOMEN AND THE PARTY IS OVER!!!

    CONGRATULATIONS ALMA…..

  5. Gosh, I hope we see more of this…not just from women, but from men, too. After all, we are all Americans and must do what’s right for the country, party be damned. If more stand up like this, I hope it will give others the courage to do so. I think many of Hillary’s supporters have walked away from Obama and the Democratic party but have remained quiet about it. Maybe they will be more vocal…we can only hope.

  6. LOL, well I think it is about a dozen top fundraisers and a gaggle of Feminist saying “oh” hell no to B.O. and his little wife Stinky… ( the thieves in the temple ) maybe you cannot steal a party and do what you want…
    Once again let’s quote Susan B. Anthony “NO SELF RESPECTING WOMEN SHOULD WISH OR WORK FOR THE SUCCESS OF A PARTY THAT IGNORES HER SEX”…
    “Go McCain & Palin”

  7. Lynn Forester de Rothschild is now supporting McCain as well. One would think the Democratic Party would get a clue but evidently they just plain don’t care. After all who needs OUR vote?

    Mountain Sage

  8. I can’t tell you how heartened I am reading about intelligent women who agree with me that Obama is flat scary and deciding to vote McCain. I have really been worried about the path our country will take in case Obama is elected. Although I am registered as a Republican, I have voted democratic when the occasion obliges me to do so – i.e. good of the people, the good of the country. I hope in the near future that hte Democratic party can give democrates good candidates – it is always best for the US when we hvave a choice of two good candidates, regardless of political affiliation.

  9. I too used to be a “Democrat” but after the primaries I am so disgusted with the party. At least the Republican party doesn’t portray itself one way and stab its own candidates in the back like the dems did this primary, starting from the top (Dean), in betwen (Pelosi, Reid) to the bottom (Donna Brazile). The worst is that they stabbed a person who has always been (and still is, Hillary) faithful to the party. This woman has done so much yet they chose to “select” a candidate that is nothing but an empty suit to represent the party. I am happy to see that these top fundraisers have the courage to stand up to the Democratic party and show them that our vote comes first before party! And I applaud all these Just Say No Deal in showing their solidarity to ourselves than the party we thought we knew. God Bless to all of you and your families.

  10. I hope many more people rise up. I hope many more voices join in. “The Party” probably pays more attention to the departure of big pockets than it does to the departure of big hearts. Important people like these make the news. I hope more of them come forward.

    However, neither “The Party,” nor the media care about the average voter who stood in line to vote after a full day’s work, or who volunteered at nights or during weekends, while holding family, career, and activities together.

    I wish we could all generate some sort of “electronic email” with all of our members’ names (and perhaps their states) and send it to Howard, the Donnas, and Obie. Maybe then they’d realize that JSND is rather a “big deal” after all. Maybe then they’d realize the scope and magnitude of their arrogrance and their betrayal, as well as the repercussions of its consequences.

  11. Wow. Did you guys hear about another prominent woman turning against party affiliations to vote for the best candidate

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/02/01/AR2008020102621.html

    Ike was a original, true conservative.

    Palin wants to take away woman’s hard fought rights. A good reason for woman. If you think the Dems ignored womans issues, just wait until Dr Dobson is named Surgeon General. Woo!

  12. [...] Posts Big Hillraiser #2 To Support McCainAlma Sanford – Female Rights Activist, Prominent Democrat To Back McCainHeather Malik From CBC and The GuardianUK – Most Offensive Ever?Donald Trump Switches From Clinton [...]

  13. you women need to get over yourselves and stop voting by what your crouch looks like.

  14. CAMARO,

    way to show your education level… not only is the sentiment of your comment ridiculous, but “lern 2 spel” for me would ya?

  15. are you kidding me? How selfish can you get to vote for McCain out of wounded pride that your candidate didn’t get chosen? pathetic. We should all suffer because your favorite girl didn’t get to play president. Wah.

  16. Jen,

    Are you seriously that unaware and uneducated?

  17. This post makes me very sad. I am in the minority in this comments section which I can handle. I have seen it all in politics. I watched with horror as this country elected Richard Nixon whose Vietnam policies got four of my childhood friends killed. Before, I lived through three murders of leaders that inspired me. I made it through the Reagan years where he mocked all the liberal causes that I held dear. I sat out until Obama and later Hillary made me want to be a part of the dance again. This fine woman leaving us to support an evil old corrupt man and his anti-woman woman candidate gives me a knot in the stomach. I guess Hillary’s amazing words at the convention didn’t have the effect on her that they had on me.

  18. WAKE UP AMERICANS! Palin was founf guilty of abusing her power!

  19. Idaho… excepting the right to life issue, please explain to me how Palin is not the absolute uber model of feminism? Because I don’t get it?

    Sweet Rose… NO, PALIN WAS NOT FOUND GUILTY OF ABUSING HER POWER.

    Palin was actually found to be perfectly within her rights as governer on the whole “Troopergate” issue.

    Palin was found in violation of the ethics code because her husband contacted a member of the state government from her office. That violation was completely independent of any content.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

